Death of Righteousness Clarification


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


The power on the card that begins with, "If a character does not defeat this barrier," ends with the phrase, "and she may not play cards or use powers against this barrier until the end of the turn."

Does this ending "and" clause only take affect if your fail to defeat the barrier or even on the initial check to defeat it?

Regards,
TiSfido


Don't have the card in front of me but if a paragraph starts with "If blablabla," then everything after only happens if blablabla.

So in your case, no effect until you actually does not defeat i. e. at the time you fail to defeat or decide not to try (quizz : does it apply if you decide to evade?).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Death of Righteousness wrote:

Each character at your location encounters this barrier.

If a character does not defeat this barrier, she discards a number of cards from her deck equal to her hand size, and she may not play cards or use powers against this barrier until the end of the turn.

After you act, banish this barrier.

Everything in the second paragraph is dependent on "if a character does not defeat this barrier." So characters who defeat it don't do those things. Characters who fail to defeat it (or evade it) do those things.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Death of Righteousness Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion