Stealth movement clarification


Rules Questions


The issue I'm having is with the following

Stealth wrote:
You can move up to half your normal speed and use Stealth at no penalty. When moving at a speed greater than half but less than your normal speed, you take a –5 penalty.

It doesn't say what happens when moving at your full speed. So if a creature has a speed of 30. They can move up to 15ft without taking a penalty on stealth, they can move 20-25ft and take a -5 on the stealth check but what happens if they move 30ft? Do they take a -10?

Also how does a double move action affect this? Can they take a double move action, each at half of their base speed (up to 30ft of movement) without taking a penalty or is the movement total the only thing that matters whether it's a single or double movement?
Assuming a double movement is possible, what about moving at 35ft (15ft then 20ft), would this incur a -5 or what? What happens at 40-45ft (20ft+20-25ft), would this stack to a -10? And finally what happens at 55-60 ft (30ft+25-30 ft)?


Moving at your full speed is a -10 penalty to your Stealth check.

Michael Grate wrote:
Also how does a double move action affect this? Can they take a double move action, each at half of their base speed (up to 30ft of movement) without taking a penalty or is the movement total the only thing that matters whether it's a single or double movement?

Yes, you're taking two separate move actions at half speed, combined into one action and (probably) two Stealth checks (though I can make an argument for just one Stealth check for the whole move), so since you're never moving faster than half speed there should be no penalty.

Michael Grate wrote:
Assuming a double movement is possible, what about moving at 35ft (15ft then 20ft), would this incur a -5 or what?

-5 because at least some of the time you were moving at more than half speed.

Michael Grate wrote:
What happens at 40-45ft (20ft+20-25ft), would this stack to a -10?

Never more than -5, that's the maximum penalty for moving more than half speed but less than full speed.

Michael Grate wrote:
And finally what happens at 55-60 ft (30ft+25-30 ft)?

-10.


DM_Blake wrote:

Moving at your full speed is a -10 penalty to your Stealth check.

Michael Grate wrote:
Also how does a double move action affect this? Can they take a double move action, each at half of their base speed (up to 30ft of movement) without taking a penalty or is the movement total the only thing that matters whether it's a single or double movement?

Yes, you're taking two separate move actions at half speed, combined into one action and (probably) two Stealth checks (though I can make an argument for just one Stealth check for the whole move), so since you're never moving faster than half speed there should be no penalty.

Michael Grate wrote:
Assuming a double movement is possible, what about moving at 35ft (15ft then 20ft), would this incur a -5 or what?

-5 because at least some of the time you were moving at more than half speed.

Michael Grate wrote:
What happens at 40-45ft (20ft+20-25ft), would this stack to a -10?

Never more than -5, that's the maximum penalty for moving more than half speed but less than full speed.

Michael Grate wrote:
And finally what happens at 55-60 ft (30ft+25-30 ft)?
-10.

Thank you very much.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Stealth movement clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions