Quickdraw and Two handed weapons


Rules Questions


So if my unchained monk loads up on spears and has the Quick Draw feat.

Can he use furry of blows to throw spears?

And I know it seems like everyone hates monks but I'm playing one and I would like to make sure I'm playing one correctly. Also would like clarify that I'm not using this option just that while reading this popped into my head.

*Edit: Let me clarify does it make sense to be able to withdraw a two-handed weapon and throw it? It makes sense with something like knives or shuriken but a spear or something larger?


It takes a full round to throw a two-handed weapon, so you would need a light or one-handed weapon that has the "monk" quality.

Yes, it's perfectly legal to flurry with thrown monk weapons. There's even an archetype (Far Strike Monk) build around the concept.


SRD, Quick Draw wrote:
A character who has selected this feat may throw weapons at his full normal rate of attacks (much like a character with a bow).

So you can at least throw several per round if your BAB is high enough.

As for Flurry of Blows:

SRD, Monk, Flurry of Blows wrote:
For the purpose of these attacks, the monk's base attack bonus from his monk class levels is equal to his monk level.

This basically says it's normal for you to use this higher BAB. And Flurry of Blows gives you an extra attack, too. All of which IS your "full normal rate of attacks" while flurrying.

Good so far.

Now for the catch.

SRD, Monk, Flurry of Blows wrote:
When doing so, he may make one additional attack, taking a –2 penalty on all of his attack rolls, as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat. These attacks can be any combination of unarmed strikes and attacks with a monk special weapon

Unfortunately, none of the spear weapons, including javelin, have the "monk" property that lets them be used with Flurry of Blows. In fact, glancing at the Weapons chart, only Shuriken have the "monk" property and can be used as ranged weapon. All other "monk" special weapons are melee only.

Which kinda shoots down the plan.

I like the plan. Work it out with your GM to allow monks to use Flurry of Blows with any proficient weapon, in which case you're good to go.


Gwen Smith wrote:

It takes a full round to throw a two-handed weapon, so you would need a light or one-handed weapon that has the "monk" quality.

Yes, it's perfectly legal to flurry with thrown monk weapons. There's even an archetype (Far Strike Monk) build around the concept.

You missed the sentence fragment right before the one you quoted:

SRD, Throwing melee weapons wrote:
Throwing a light or one-handed weapon is a standard action,

Which pretty much means that tossing around sai and nunchunks and temple swords is always a standard action, never a Flurry of Blows contender.

The archetype is an interesting option though. He has a specific exception to what I said earlier that lets him do what the OP wants to do.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quickdraw and Two handed weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions