Several languages in one language-dependent spell?


Rules Questions


Quote:

If the target cannot understand or hear what the caster of a language-dependent spell says, the spell has no effect, even if the target fails its saving throw.

So, can my language-nerdy wizard rattle off every language known to her when casting a language-dependent spell? I mean, around level 10, with investment in linguistics, a character knows somewhere around a dozen different languages.


Blah, no. I would rule that you have one chance to get the language right. A knowledge check about the creature could very easily turn up what languages they know. Or you could have some conversation before casting the spell to learn what they can speak. But I would rule you can only "cast" in one language per spell (unless the spell had a particularly long casting time).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ancient Draconic

All listen to the language of power.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Several languages in one language-dependent spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.