Do Magic Items affect the level of spells you can cast?


Rules Questions


Hey everyone, hope you're all doing well :)

Curious about something that I tried Googling, oddly with absolutely no results relevant to what I asked.

Just wondering if magic items that give stat bonuses affect the level of spells you can cast, based on the rule that the highest spell level you can cast is up to your spellcasting stat minus 10.

So for instance, if a wizard with Int 16 had an Int +4 item, could they then cast up to level 9 spells instead of just 6? I could have sworn I heard somewhere that after 24 hours of wearing a magic item like that, it counts towards stuff like that. Not 100% myself, so thought I'd ask you fine folks. Thanks for your time :)


Yes. They do affect that.

PRD wrote:
Permanent Bonuses: Ability bonuses with a duration greater than 1 day actually increase the relevant ability score after 24 hours. Modify all skills and statistics related to that ability. This might cause you to gain skill points, hit points, and other bonuses. These bonuses should be noted separately in case they are removed.


Thank you very much! :D

Liberty's Edge

I'm probably pointing out the obvious here, but only if the character could normally cast spells of that level. A 3rd level wizard can't cast a 9th level spell whether his Int is 19 or 190.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do Magic Items affect the level of spells you can cast? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.