False Flanker question


Rules Questions


Would it threatening a creature count as interacting with it? And, for the answer, could you provide a link to where I can find it?


Just for clarification I assume your asking for the sake of this ability?

False Flanker:
False Flanker: A duplicate of the mesmerist appears momentarily, as though he were fighting in tandem with the subject. The mesmerist can trigger this trick when the subject moves into or begins her turn in a square where she threatens an enemy. An illusory duplicate of the mesmerist appears in any unoccupied space adjacent to that enemy. This duplicate counts as threatening the enemy for the purposes of determining flanking, but can't actually make attacks. The duplicate disappears at the end of the turn during which the trick is triggered. This is an illusion (figment) effect, and a creature that interacts with the false flanker can attempt a saving throw to disbelieve the effect.


Though I don't have a hard answer for you, the wording from the Magic page leads me to believe that no, threatening is not interacting:

"Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion."

Considering the illusion isn't doing anything to them directly, simply allowing you to treat them as flanked, and assuming the creature hasn't spent any action to realize the illusion isn't real by studying it, I would say no, it is not considered interacting. Its the first part of the wording which says "Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not recieve saving throws" which to me is the biggest indicator.

It would also make that ability entirely pointless if as soon as you use it they could get a saving throw and have it not work.


As soon as the creature attempts to attack the illusion, it has interacted and deserves a saving throw.


Yes, I meant that one and thank you for the answer

Sovereign Court

Interacting is unlikely to happen in this case, because the false flanker has such a short lifetime. But it could happen if the enemy used an Immediate or Readied action against it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / False Flanker question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions