Effects that automatically end and saves.


Rules Questions


Some effects (eg sleep and fascination) can be automatically ended, usually if some ally/enemy takes a specific action. Does this count as saving if the cause says saving makes a creature immune?

As an example the Nosoi Improved Familiar can fascinate with it's song (su ability).
"A creature that successfully saves is not subject to that nosoi's song for 24 hours."

Fascination automatically ends if you are exposed to an obvious threat. Does breaking fascination this way make you immune to the song, or do you have to succeed at an actual saving throw?

My feeling is that you have to actually succeed at a saving throw, but there could be a rule contradicting me that I don't know about.


Your feeling is correct. They need to make an actual save unless specified otherwise (some abilities say a creature can only be effected once per 24 hours for example).


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
CampinCarl9127 wrote:
... some abilities say a creature can only be effected once per 24 hours ...).

AFFECTED


Why would my phone autocorrect affected to effected. They're both words.

I swear I'm turning autocorrect off.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Effects that automatically end and saves. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.