Class Spell-like Abilities and class features that affect spells


Rules Questions


I was thinking of picking up eldritch heritage (namely the orc bloodline which has Touch of Rage as a SLA for its first level power) for a bloodrager I am playing and noticed that even though bloodrage lets you cast bloodrager spells, SLA's may not work.

We know from this FAQ that SLA's don't count as being part of a classes spell list. To frame it in FAQ form:

Is a SLA gained through a class affected by effects that modify spells of that class?

Bloodrager specific as well, there is the feat Mad Magic which opens bloodrage up to all classes spells, but that still might not work with SLA's, as the current rules seem to indicate they are not class spells. I don't think this is fully intended behavior, as a SLA you gain from a class should be modified by class features that modify that classes spell.

If we can figure this out, the same question can be extended to SLA's gained from feats (if the feat is granted by taking a level in a class, does it count for that class) and racial SLAs.


SLAs shouldn't work if it specifies spells, even if the SLAs come from a casting class. It would be awesome if SLAs worked with that Mad Magic, but they don't.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Class Spell-like Abilities and class features that affect spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions