Paralyzed Kineticist - Can they use their Kinetic Blast Since It's a Mental Talent


Rules Questions


As an occultist, it's my understanding that when paralyzed they can cast psychic spells since it's a mental maneuver.

What about using their kinetic blast when paralyzed? Is that a possibility?

Thanks

Grand Lodge

From page 144 of Occult Adventures:

Psychic spells are purely mental actions, and they can be cast even while the caster is pinned or paralyzed.

There's your answer on the subject of psychic magic - Kineticists are psychic spell-likes, and use the same rules except where noted like other spell-like abilities. I will note that Kineticists won't be able to gather energy - no ability to use both hands.

Grand Lodge

I am going to change my answer - the BLAST can't be used, as you need 1 hand free to direct it. Your Utility Wild Talents, so long as they don't need a hand to deliver or direct, would be available.


In theory you do have a hand available when paralyzed you'd just have a totally random two directions available to fire, mostly just at the ground. If for some reason you were paralyzed and then swallow whole came into play, unless it was ruled you'd managed to get both hands trapped aimed at your body I think this might actually be a neat trick. Other than that, you lack direction and will almost assuredly miss every time.

A free hand indeed, but it doesn't say somatic components required, so I feel paralyzed blasting is still a (mostly useless) option.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Paralyzed Kineticist - Can they use their Kinetic Blast Since It's a Mental Talent All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions