Closing using Summoned Monsters during Demondome.


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.

We are doing Scenario 2 in Adventure Pack 4: Demondome.

One of our characters encountered an Incubus, which forces another character at the location to encounter the servitor Demon (Vulture Demon).

The Other Character beats the Vulture Demon by more then 12. Battlebliss states that if you succeed on a check to defeat a demon by 12 or more you may attempt to close.

Can that 2nd character attempt to close the location because of the location power? During the 1rst character's encounter with the succubus?

If he can, then Battlebliss moves the characters, but the encounter with the initial Incubus is still occurring. So do they move to a new location (another battlebliss), then continue the fight against the Incubus. If they do, can they beat it by more then 12 to now try to close that location?

Also, the temp close for the Battlebliss is summon and encounter the servitor demon. If we encounter the boss, during the temporary close, if we beat the servitor demon by more then 12, can we try to permanently close the location using the power granted by Battlebliss?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Note, this is going by rules as written. I suspect intent may differ a bit, but won't know unless someone more official than me pops by.

1) The second character can indeed attempt to close due to the At This Location power on the Battlebliss. It only cares about "When you succeed at a check to defeat a monster that has the Demon trait" -- it doesn't say that monster has to be from a location deck, so it works on summoned monsters.

2) Also yes, since the close power is part of the Battlebliss At This Location power. The power (again) triggers "When you succeed at a check to defeat a monster that has the Demon trait" and you don't succeed at the check against the Incubus until you roll it, and you don't roll it until after you've moved from the previous location. That means you're at the new Battlebliss when the power triggers and it gives you another attempt to close.

3) Also yes, for the same reasons as #1.


Which kinda made battlebliss both interesting and a little too easy..

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

All this looks legit to me.

Note that while it does mean you're getting lots of opportunities to close on big successes, that's balanced by the fact that you're getting lots of opportunities to have your hand wiped if you don't win big.


Thanks vic. Awesome blitz of replies... :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Closing using Summoned Monsters during Demondome. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion