Borrow Fortune and Critical Hits


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If I cast Borrow Fortune and reroll and get a natural 20, do I have to roll twice for the confirmation roll and take the worst result?

Silver Crusade Contributor

Generally, the confirmation roll treats everything the same as it was for the initial attack. Between that and the "next two rounds" bit, I'd say the rerolling probably starts after the confirmation roll.

I'm only about 98% sure on this though - any other opinions? ^_^


I'm sorry I have to disagree with Kalindlara.

While nearly everything that applies to an initial roll applies to a confirmation roll I don't believe this includes additional rolls of the dice. Attack rolls and confirmation rolls are still separate and distinct things which can and do have different modifiers and effects. for example miss chance due to concealment doesn't apply to confirmation rolls.

If you cast Borrow Fortune in response to the initial attack and threaten a critical, then the bad luck starts from the confirmation roll.

Silver Crusade Contributor

That's a valid way to look at it.

The "next two rounds" thing influenced my opinion as well. If I were running when this came up, I'd just have it start at the end of your turn.

That's not especially Rules Questions forum-friendly, though. ^_^


I can see both arguments. I guess it's a GM decision then.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Borrow Fortune and Critical Hits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions