Timing question for Imrijka's Explore Again power


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Imrijka is exploring a location that moves you as a result of closing it. The Cavern and Grinder are both examples of this type of location.

Imrijka encounters a monster henchman and defeats them. How does this interact with her explore again power?

Does it go?
1. Defeat Henchman
2. Immediately attempt to close location as instructed by henchman
3. Close location, as a result get moved to a new location
4. It is now after Imrijka has defeated a monster, so now she checks to see if she explores again.

OR

1. Defeat Henchman
2. It is now after Imrijka has defeated a monster, so now she checks to see if she explores again. It won't really matter since the location is closing.
3. Now attempt to close location as instructed by henchman
4. Close location, as a result get moved to a new location. If Imrijka wants to continue exploring, she must expend resources

The heart of the question is if the location closing because of defeating the Henchman is still part of the Henchman's encounter?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Closing a location as part of defeating a Henchman or Villain (not when you close a location due to it being at 0 cards left) would let Imrijka use her power to explore again. So, it'd be the first sequence you posted.

Closing a location when there are 0 cards left would not, even if Imrijka needs to fight a monster as part of the When Closing on it. This is because this type of closing does not happen during the explore step, so you can't explore after it's done (in fact, the only thing you can do at that point is end your turn).

Closing as part of defeating a Henchman happens immediately after the Resolve the Encounter step of the encounter (so the close is not part of the encounter, but timing-wise happens before Imrijka's power kicks in). The rulebook offers this on the matter (p9, emphasis mine): "If a card grants you an additional exploration, after you finish what you are doing, you must immediately use that exploration or forfeit it." Finish what you are doing includes closing as part of defeating a henchman, because you are still resolving powers that happened as a result of the henchman encounter even though you are no longer in that encounter anymore. Villains work the same way, although the step in which the location is closed due to beating a villain is still part of the broad encountering a villain sequence rather than a nebulous point immediately after the encounter is over. That detail doesn't matter for this case, however, as Imrijka gets to wait until she finishes resolving all the side effects of defeating a henchman or villain before she uses her explore again power.


I believe the former applies. Close/move/check to explore. Finish all the 'immediate' steps first. As long as still in explore phase and no 'end turn' effects kick in.. it should still be explorable.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Timing question for Imrijka's Explore Again power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion