Aura


Rules Questions


According to the PRD the Aura is constant centered on the creature with a DC to avoid the effect.

1) If you leave the aura, do you lose the benefit?
2) Is the aura a EX, SU or SP?

Thanks


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Exactly what Aura are you talking about ?


scooby wrote:

According to the PRD the Aura is constant centered on the creature with a DC to avoid the effect.

1) If you leave the aura, do you lose the benefit?
2) Is the aura a EX, SU or SP?

Thanks

An Aura can be of many different type and you must read the creature, spell or ability description to know what it is. For example:

Clerics, Paladin, Inquisitors and many other classes gain auras from their domains. Of the many divine domains I looked at (I didn't look at them all) they where listed as SU. And all that I saw had words in their descriptions like: While in the Aura, While within the area of affect, effects end once leaving the Aura/Area of Affect, etc. They also usually stated they only last a number of rounds based on level.

Most creatures with Auras seem to be typed SU as well. But not all.

An example of an Aura that is EX is a Dragon's Frightful Prescence (EX). Its description in part reads... Opponents within range who witness the action may become frightened or shaken. The range is usually 30 feet, and the duration is usually 5d6 rounds. So in this example the effect of the Aura Persists for 5d6 rounds even if you leave the area of affect of the aura.

And example of a creatue with an Aura that is typed (Sp) would be the Azata, Ghaele and its Aura of Holy Aura. That ability would seem to be covered under the rules for Spell Like Abilities where it says in part:

Spell-Like Abilities (Sp) Spell-like abilities are magical and work just like spells (though they are not spells and so have no verbal, somatic, focus, or material components). They go away in an antimagic field and are subject to spell resistance if the spell the ability is based on would be subject to spell resistance.

A spell-like ability usually has a limit on how often it can be used. A constant spell-like ability or one that can be used at will has no use limit; unless otherwise stated, a creature can only use a constant spell-like ability on itself...

I believe, "A constant spell-like ability or one that can be used at will has no use limit;" to be an adjective descriptor to the Ghaele's Constant Holy Aura (SP) and not meaning to include also its At Will Abilities.

If so that would mean its : At will—aid, charm monster (DC 17), continual flame, cure light wounds, dancing lights, detect thoughts (DC 15), disguise self, dispel magic, hold monster (DC 18), greater invisibility (self only), major image (DC 16), greater teleport (self plus 50 lbs. of objects only)

Would all only be useable on its self and not on other creatures. And that would make no sense for the attack powers and the Greater Invisibility and Teleport already labeled as (self only) being redundant

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Aura All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions