Arushalae's gift can be returned from where?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Our group is now in book 4 and our Aurushalae has chosen to be able to return her gift to her hand every turn. The question we had is can she return it from the discard pile or only from the displayed state?

Grand Lodge

Looking at the power:

Quote:
When the cohort Arueshalae’s Gift is displayed next to a character’s deck, add 1d4 (□+1) to his checks that use a marked skill. At the start of your turn, you may add Arueshalae’s Gift to your hand.

The first part of the power is talking about Arueshalae's Gift being displayed next to a character's deck. So I'd have to say that the second part about "At the start of your turn" needs to have the Gift displayed and not in the discard pile.

If these were separate powers, it would be different but they're not.


Yes, if for whatever reason Arue's gift ends up in your discard (how can you do that?) then you'll have to rely on standard methods (cure...) to get it back in hand.

This said, why on earth would you do something else than :
Start of game : display the gift immediately in front of someone else.
Start of turn, get the gift back and display it immediately in front of someone else. Repeat.
Then you should normaly never have it in your discard.

Grand Lodge

Frencois wrote:

Yes, if for whatever reason Arue's gift ends up in your discard (how can you do that?) then you'll have to rely on standard methods (cure...) to get it back in hand.

This said, why on earth would you do something else than :
Start of game : display the gift immediately in front of someone else.
Start of turn, get the gift back and display it immediately in front of someone else. Repeat.
Then you should normaly never have it in your discard.

I wasn't understanding why it would be in the discard either. It can go there if it was never displayed by the owner.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

It could end up discarded for damage, I guess. You'd pretty much have to choose to have it do that. If you could return it from discard to hand, it would be a renewable source of damage mitigation.

Maybe someday there will be a bane or location that somehow attacks your displayed cards.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Arushalae's gift can be returned from where? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion