| Frencois |
I will do my part helping Hawk reaching 100,000 posts:
This is a typical case of "We're pretty sure we played it right, but just in case let's check with the ones who know".
For your check to defeat a bane that has the Demon or Undead trait, you may recharge a spell (□ or blessing) to use your Divine skill + 1d8 and add the Attack, Divine, and Magic traits.
Before you act, succeed at a Constitution or Fortitude 9 check or you may not play boons that have the Attack trait or weapons during this encounter.
Playing a card means using a power on that card by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing that card or by performing another action specifed by that card. Activating a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it. If a power says using it counts as playing a boon, it counts as playing that card. Doing something with a card that does not use a power on that card does not count as playing that card.
Seems to me that Kyra can still use her power if she fails the Constitution or Fortitude 9 check, even if it has the Attack trait, because she's not actually playing a boon.
We run into a 6-demons Demon Horde on the last turn of the 4-3 scenario and won it because we ruled that Kyra - who had no chance of making that check, could still play her power against the 3 Vultures that targeted her.
Andrew L Klein
|
You definitely played it right. You never played the card, you used your character power. The spell could have said "Under no circumstances whatsoever, no exceptions no matter what anything ever says, can you ever play this card in any way, shape, or form, against Vulture Demon". You would still be allowed to use it to pay for Kyra's power.
| Hawkmoon269 |
I agree. Kyra's power isn't a boon. If the vulture demon simply said it was immune to the attack trait, that would be a different story.
I'd say there is a chance that this issue changes things here, but for now, it works.