magic leather armor


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


This card reads:

Recharge this card to reduce combat damage dealt to you by 1

Banish this card to reduce all damage dealt to you to 0; if you are proficient with light armors, bury this card instead.

If you are proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand.

My question is, and this is due to tcg experience where all card effects happen regardless of location unless errata say otherwise and card effect trumps rules, does the last ability happen regardless of where it is, including buried, or is there an unpublished errata somewhere that says otherwise?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Whenever a location isn't specified for a card you play, it's implied from your hand. So no errata necessary, that power only works if it's in your hand.

Edit: here's the rulebook reference:

WotR Rulebook, pg10 wrote:
If you are instructed to play, reveal, display, discard, recharge, bury, banish, or otherwise manipulate a card, that card must come from your hand unless otherwise specified.


Is there a reference for this implication? I have never encountered something like this before as all of the recharge i have encountered before this states specific locations

Edit: this is in skulls and shackles


That last sentence is the card's third power, one that can only be played if the card is in your hand when it's time to reset your hand.

S&S Rulebook, p. 10 wrote:
If you are instructed to play, reveal, display, discard, recharge, bury, banish, or otherwise manipulate a card, that card must come from your hand unless otherwise specified.

Edit: Heh, ninjaed. :) I double-checked the S&S rulebook and it's the same wording and ends up on the same page.


Thank you all for the assistance.

Grand Lodge

I have had players assume that after using the second power to bury the armor to reduce all damage to 0 that they could then recharge their card at the end of their turn when resetting.

I had to explain that the third power is a separate power and not to be used in conjunction with the bury ability of most armors.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / magic leather armor All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion