Question about using Aid Another action with trained-only skills


Rules Questions

The Exchange

According to the rules, trained-only skills cannot be used for anything with a DC higher than 10 if you don't have ranks in it. Since the DC to Aid Another is 10, does this mean that a character can use the Aid Another action to aid a Knowledge skill check even if they don't have ranks in that particular Knowledge skill? Or does the particular nature of trained-only skills make them an exception to the Aid Another DC rule?


Quote:
According to the rules, trained-only skills cannot be used for anything with a DC higher than 10 if you don't have ranks in it.

You can't use a trained-only skill at all unless you have at least 1 rank in it. Only the Knowledge and Sleight of Hand skills work differently.

Quote:
Since the DC to Aid Another is 10, does this mean that a character can use the Aid Another action to aid a Knowledge skill check even if they don't have ranks in that particular Knowledge skill? Or does the particular nature of trained-only skills make them an exception to the Aid Another DC rule?

Since Knowledge skills work differently than other trained-only skills by actually letting you attempt the check, you can attempt to Aid Another even with no ranks.

However, the GM is well within his rights to rule otherwise:

Quote:
In cases where the skill restricts who can achieve certain results, such as trying to open a lock using Disable Device, you can't aid another to grant a bonus to a task that your character couldn't achieve alone. The GM might impose further restrictions to aiding another on a case-by-case basis as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about using Aid Another action with trained-only skills All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.