Just another "you" clarification


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I guess if I reread all threads i should get the answer but in case Hawk or Vic has it directly...

When you display a card on a full scenario or location (e. g. Jolly Roger Banner of Valor or Glimmer of Hope - if I'm not mistaken), does the "you" in the powers (if there is one) apply to only the character having played the card or to whomever's turn it is?


Typically "you" is the person who played the card. Jolly Roger has a FAQ which specifies this.

Banner of Valor is different. It is explicitly worded to apply to any character at the location.

Glimmer of Hope is a puzzle. The wording suggest it is like the Jolly Roger, in that "you" is the character who displayed the card. But I'm guessing that's not the intent.

Grand Lodge

Since the text of the card:

Glimmer of Hope wrote:

Display this card next to the scenario; the barrier is defeated. If another barrier is next to the scenario, banish 1 of them.

While displayed, before you advance the blessings deck, you may bury a random card from your deck; you may banish that card to not advance the blessings deck this turn. Then shuffle your deck.

I read it that the wording is written this way (similar to Jolly Roger) because they want to make sure that players understand that the use of the card can only be on that player's turn. But it can be used by any player (on their turn).


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Jolly Roger (post-FAQ) is displayed next to your character card, which makes it obvious that it only applies to the person that played it. Glimmer of Hope is displayed next to the scenario, so the "you" implies that it is the current player's turn in that anyone can use that power on their own turn before they advance the blessings deck.

Intent to me seems like they want to have it apply to everyone, at least, due to the location the card is displayed at. Note the actual FAQ resolution for Jolly Roger was to move it from your next to your ship to next to your character card, the explanatory text above that hints the location it's displayed at is what leads you to think about who "you" refers to rather than a blanket statement that "you" always refers to the person that displayed the card.


I'd agree. Right now, if I were to play this, I'd apply it to everyone. And it seems fine to do that. And, unlike Jolly Roger, it doesn't seem to make it more powerful to let everyone do it. The risk/reward is the same whether one person gets to use it or everyone does.


That's the way we play it. But the wording is still puzzling.


Yeah. And I was wrong about the Jolly Roger, so I could be wrong here.

Grand Lodge

Well, I was wrong about the Jolly Roger as well.

But the wording this time, I think, is so you understand that you have to use it on your turn and not someone else's.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Glimmer of Hope is a bane, so this applies.


Oh yes, forgot that FAQ. Good catch Vic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Just another "you" clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion