Question on Cohorts


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


If a player is instructed to add a cohort immediately to a players hand at the beginning of a scenario, does that count towards the players hand count? Or is it above it? So if the character's hand size is 5, does the cohort make 6? Or is it included in the 5?

Thanks!


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

It's above, so the cohort makes 6.


Awesome! Thanks so much!


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

For the rules reason of why this is, see page 7 of the rulebook. "Add Cohorts and Mythic Charges" appears after "Draw Starting Hands" so your starting hand is already there when you add the cohort.

Note that for cohorts handed out by the scenario card, each character can only take at most 1 of them. For example, in a 2 player game with Balazar and Kyra playing Vengeance at Sundered Crag there are normally 3 cohorts handed out by the scenario. Balazar and Kyra can each choose 1 of them, and the remaining cohort is returned to the box. Let's assume Balazar chose Vinst and Kyra chose Sir Ilivan. This means Cecilla the Uprooter is returned to the box and Balazar now has 8 cards in hand (his starting hand of 6, Padrig, and Vinst) and Kyra has 6 cards in hand (her starting hand of 5 and Sir Ilivan). After their first turn, they should ensure they have equal to or less than their hand size worth of cards left, as otherwise they'll be needing to discard some as those cohorts do count against hand size.


A lot of people forget that the cohort counts against their hand size when they eventually reset their hand.


That was really my biggest point of confusion. It was fairly clear to me that it didn't count towards my hand size when it was first dealt. But what happens when you reset your hand? Thanks for confirming this!


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm sorry for not giving a clear answer then. Yes, if you keep all of your cards in your hand after your first turn, you will need to discard down to your hand size.

Sovereign Court

It most definitely counts towards your hand size, for end of turn and everything else. The only reason this isn't take into account at the start, is because you are specifically told to add your Cohort after drawing your first hand.

Somewhat off topic, I wonder if we'll see a scenario that tells you to add your Cohort before drawing your first hand and having it count against that. Symbolizing getting robbed or starting in a pitch black dungeon where you're having a hard time finding all your gear at first.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Question on Cohorts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion