Channel energy: "affects all creatures of one type"?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I just re-read the Channel Energy description that says: "Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric."

Does this mean that if someone channels positive energy it can't heal players and damage undead in the same burst?

Thanks.

Grand Lodge

Nope! ...either undead OR living... does mean undead AND living


I can see the alternate reading, but it's wrong.

If you think "type" means "creature type," then you could in theory channel positive energy to affect "humanoids" which would heal your party but would also harm the "undead (augmented humanoid)" vampire.

.... but, as I said, you'd be wrong. It simply means that you can heal your party OR harm the vampire, but not both.


Worth mentioning you could do both in the original playtest, but it made evil necromancy cleric NPCs party TPK machines so they decided to make it heal OR harm.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Ok thanks. Looks like our group has been doing that wrong then.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channel energy: "affects all creatures of one type"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions