Elemental Bloodline & Elemental Touch


Rules Questions


Elemental Bloodline Arcana allows you to change the elemental damage from one type to your bloodline type. Nothing else on the spell changes. So a Shocking Grasp that deals fire damage instead of electricity still gets +3 to hit against metal wearing targets and is considered a [Fire] spell.

My question is about spells that have multiple elemental types based on when the spell is cast, like Elemental Touch. It is a [Fire] spell when you choose to deal fire damage, [Cold] when you deal cold damage, etc. Can you choose to cast it as an [Electricity] spell and then use your bloodline arcana to change it to [Fire] in order to deal fire damage, but make the target save or be staggered as if it was the [Electricity] type, or by changing the type of the spell as it is cast do you have to use the entry for that type?

Shadow Lodge

Bloodline Arcana wrote:
Whenever you cast a spell that deals energy damage, you can change the type of damage to match the type of your bloodline. This also changes the spell's type to match the type of your bloodline.

The only requirement seems to be that the spell deal energy damage, and Elemental Touch does, so your bloodline arcana should work and enable you to produce effects that don't normally line up with your bloodline's energy type and changing the descriptor to match.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Elemental Bloodline & Elemental Touch All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions