Carrying a familiar?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Are you allowed by RAW to carry your familiar around in combat by some means, such as by wearing a familiar satchel...

PRD wrote:
Familiar Satchel: This armored case provides total cover to any Tiny or smaller creature contained within it. It includes air holes (which can be plugged with cork stoppers if you need to go underwater) and two receptacles for food and water.

...or in some other way, like in a pocket or letting it sit on your shoulder? If so, how does it impact the actions that the familiar is able to take?

Can we apply the mounted combat rules in this situation, meaning that the familiar is able to take a move action and a standard action, but can't full attack?

PRD wrote:
Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it. You move at its speed, but the mount uses its action to move...If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack.

Should it be making ride checks? Or does this not apply since a mount is a creature you 'direct', and the character is in charge, not the familiar?

It seems reasonable that the mounted combat rules would apply whenever a creature is voluntarily allowing another creature to carry it around - or else you could drag or bull rush your allies to help them get in position for full attacks. But I'm wondering if anyone knows what the RAW on this is.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Carrying a familiar? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions