Foe-biting stacking questions.


Rules Questions


Okay, so I know stacking multipliers is a complicated issue in Pathfinder.

For example, start with a Mythic Vital Strike, that's an attack that does x4 your normal damage including all the same modifiers of a critical hit.

It's my understanding that you're not supposed to just apply multipliers on top of other multipliers, you're supposed to figure out the difference in damage that the multiplier would add to your base damage, and add that damage to the total instead.

So if, in that above Mythic Greater Vital Strike, I also score a crit while using a x2 weapon, I end up dealing x5 damage(base+3 from vital strike+1 from crit), instead of x8 damage(x4x2).

So my question is, how does this apply to Foe-Biting?

Foe-biting is very specific about doubling the total amount of damage. Including modifiers and extra dice, etc. This is different from how other multipliers are written.

Does this mean that, if I use Foe-Biting during the above Mythic Vital Strike crit, that I take that x5 damage and then double it? Or do I treat it like other stacking multipliers and just increase it to x6 instead?

The fact that Foe-biting even costs more Legendary Power points to use it on a crit definitely seems to suggest it's the latter. But I want to be sure.


Nothing eh?


It might help if you reference the books you're talking about. I've not actually heard of these before.


Foe biting (scroll down a ways) pretty explicitly over-rides the normal multiplying rules in several ways. It doubles all damage after it is calculated, rather than multiplying the base damage. It multiplies extra damage dice such as sneak attack which normal multiplying doesn't.

So yeah, work out your normal damage including vital strike and sneak attack, THEN spend a mythic point and double everything for that attack.


dragonhunterq wrote:
So yeah, work out your normal damage including vital strike and sneak attack, THEN spend a mythic point and double everything for that attack.

*nod* Alright, sounds good. If no one else disagrees, I'll assume this is right. Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Foe-biting stacking questions. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions