| SteampunkLemur |
I am currently playing a kitsune sorcerer that focuses on enchantment spells. but in order to be of more use in the party I wanted to cross class into arcane Archer and use some AoE spells for range combat. the spell detonate specifies in its description that the elemental energy builds up within the sorcerer, but the description of the spell for its mechanics specifies that it is an AoE centered on the caster. My DM does not think it will work due to the flavor description stating that the energy is within me but everything that I have seen points towards the energy building up from the point of the spells casting area which would be the target struck with the arrow.
so I guess my question is according to the rules would putting the spell on a arrow be viable? And if so can somebody please provide a way of explaining it to my DM that would help him understand. there are not very many AoE spells that deal damage that are good for this ability and I really want the ability to choose the elemental type like detonate provides. I would definitely appreciate any assistance
Alayern
|
He need look no farther than the second sentence of the Imbue Arrow ability
When the arrow is fired, the spell's area is centered where the arrow lands, even if the spell could normally be centered only on the caster.
Provided he doesn't houserule it of course, as is within his power, but as written, you can do it.