Witch Cartomancer Question


Rules Questions

Vigilant Seal

So i'm looking over the Witch archetype "Cartomancer" and the ability to deliver touch spells at range with the card deck doesn't specify if the ranged attack is part of the casting time for the spell or if it's a seperate action.
There are a couple of rules about ranged touch spells that specify they can't be held. but I'd just like some clarification or insight into how this should be read.

the GraveWalker witch archetype specifies that the deliver as ranged touch ability is a full round action, so I'm not sure how to read the Cartomancer.

Here is the ability in question.

Spell Deck

Each cartomancer carries a special harrow deck that allows her to communicate with her patron. Its ability to hold spells functions identically to the way a witch's spells are granted by her familiar. The cartomancer must consult her harrow deck each day to prepare her spells and cannot prepare spells that are not stored in the deck. The spell deck cannot be used for this purpose if any cards are missing.

This ability replaces the witch's familiar.

The following familiar ability works differently for a cartomancer.

Deliver Touch Spells (Su)

At 3rd level, when the cartomancer uses the Deadly Dealer feat with a card from her spell deck, the card is not destroyed and gains the returning weapon special ability.

In addition, the cartomancer can deliver a touch spell with a thrown card. This uses the Deadly Dealer feat (see below), except the attack is resolved as a ranged touch attack and the card deals no damage of its own. This ability can be used with any card (not just one from the cartomancer's spell deck).


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I don't know the archetype in question but this is from the combat section in the Core rulebook:

Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively. Unless otherwise noted, ranged touch attacks cannot be held until a later turn.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

When you cast a touch spell, you can deliver the spell through touch (or melee touch attack) as a free action. This rule exists because otherwise it would require two standard actions to heal someone with cure light wounds. The cartomancer substitutes that free attack with a ranged touch attack via a thrown card using Deadly Dealer. As a result, throwing the card is a free action.

Combat wrote:
Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.

If the attack misses, you keep the charge because it's still technically a touch spell and you did not discharge the spell. It does not get discharged until you deliver the spell, and a missed attack fails to deliver the spell. This contrasts with spells like telekinesis and scorching ray, where the spell gets discharged immediately and the ranged attacks occur as part of the spell's effect. This is why the rules say you cannot hold the charge for these ranged attack spells.

On a missed attack, you can spend a standard action to try again, either with a touch or using a card.

Vigilant Seal

Thanks for the updates.

does this mean that you could hold the spell on cards until it was discharged, similar to a touch spell?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'd lean towards the idea that the touch spells are treated as ranged touch. Which means no holding on to them and that they would be used if the attack misses.

But that is an opinion. I think the brief sentence of rules support either ruling.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

The touch spell never stops being a touch spell. The ability just gives you an alternate way of delivering it. So technically, you should keep the charge if the attack misses. The question comes up if the card hits something else. One could argue you never imbued the card the charge while many could argue that you invest the charge in the card, which discharges if it hits terrain or an object. However, I'm fairly certain that if you catch the card via the returning property, the charge comes back to you, allowing you to throw another card with the spell or just use a melee touch as normal. The magus's spellstrike works like this.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

You could be right. Or this line might mean more:
This uses the Deadly Dealer feat (see below), except the attack is resolved as a ranged touch attack.

And ranged touch attacks cannot be held for another round.

It's a pretty powerful ability to be able to use touch spells at range. It'd be odd to not have any drawbacks.

EDIT: not really arguing, just want things to be clear as it sounds like an interesting archetype and would like to try one.


I'm playing one in PFS, and the assumption has very much been that I lose the charge if the card misses.

Still, ranged touch for Touch of Fatigue pretty much earns you your spot at the table when you get it at level 3.

At higher levels the usefulness of throwing touch spells will require real spells and make missing hurt, but it will still be a good ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Witch Cartomancer Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions