
Scaffold Kane |

Hey there, I'm turning up nothing with searches, but I'm willing to bet this has been asked before. I'm also not so sure myself.
The question is; If an alchemist has the infusion discovery and passes an extract off to a raging barbarian with the superstition rage power, does the barbarian need to save when he imbibes it?
My main hang up is that the Alchemy ability of the alchemist is supernatural (though I understand that the intent could be for all of the abilities granted by Alchemy other than extracts are (Su), which would still make sense since the Spells ability of casters is usually not accompanied with any qualifier). Since the barbarian needn't save against (Su) abilities, and the ability itself says that extracts behave like spells, but not that they are spells or even that they are "like" spells, I'm lead to believe that a barbarian need not save against extracts. I'm sure I'm wrong though.
Any clarification is appreciated.

![]() |
While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.
Pausing to uncork and drink an infusion would to be require some level of patience and pause. I just don't see a raging barbarian stopping to do that when they could instead be hitting stuff with a sword/axe/club/fist/person.

![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.
Pausing to uncork and drink an infusion would to be require some level of patience and pause. I just don't see a raging barbarian stopping to do that when they could instead be hitting stuff with a sword/axe/club/fist/person.
There are Rage Powers, Rage Archetypes etc, based around drinking Potion/Booze/Etc.
Rage is not a temporary retardation of one's mental capabilities.
They can drink whatever they want, be it potion, booze, or extract.
They can even Fight Defensively, take a Total Defense Action, or even Ready an Action.
Hell, they can even ready an action, to drink an extract.

Cuup |

Rushley son of Halum wrote:While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.
Pausing to uncork and drink an infusion would to be require some level of patience and pause. I just don't see a raging barbarian stopping to do that when they could instead be hitting stuff with a sword/axe/club/fist/person.
There are Rage Powers, Rage Archetypes etc, based around drinking Potion/Booze/Etc.
Rage is not a temporary retardation of one's mental capabilities.
They can drink whatever they want, be it potion, booze, or extract.
They can even Fight Defensively, take a Total Defense Action, or even Ready an Action.
Hell, they can even ready an action, to drink an extract.
Agreed. Patience would be more like trying to pick a lock, and concentration refers to casting spells, and other actions of that ilk.

Just a Guess |

While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.
Pausing to uncork and drink an infusion would to be require some level of patience and pause. I just don't see a raging barbarian stopping to do that when they could instead be hitting stuff with a sword/axe/club/fist/person.
I might agree that searching for a corkscrew to open a bottle of wine might be too much when he could instead just push the cork in with his thumb. Heck, we did that when we were young, too.
But opening something that is meant to be easy to open? Like opening a can of coke(enough with the alcohol)? No patience needed.
Just a Guess |

I certainly agree, but am I correct in thinking that the superstition barbarian need not save against extracts?
Yes.
As infusions are not spells and alchemists and investigators don't count as spellcasters they do not have to make the saves.
The fluff or what makes sense is the wrong topic for the rules board so RAW is what counts.