| Alexander Augunas Contributor |
Ranged Trip is a nifty feat from the Ranged Tactics Toolbox. It reads as follows:
quote]Ranged Trip (Combat, Targeting)
Note: If you are using the optional called shots rules, attacks made with targeting feats count as called shots for the purposes of abilities or effects that modify called shots, such as the Improved Called Shot feat.
Prerequisite(s): Dex 13, Deadly Aim, base attack bonus +1.
Benefit(s): As a full-round action, you can attempt to perform a trip combat maneuver with any ranged weapon at a –2 penalty. Add your Dexterity modifier to your CMB in place of your Strength modifier and apply range penalties to your combat maneuver check, doubling the penalties from range increments. If your target is more than 30 feet away, you take an additional –2 penalty. If the trip attempt is successful, the target also takes damage as if you had made a successful attack with that weapon. You can't be knocked prone by failing the trip attempt.
So, what happens if I decide to use an alchemist's bomb (or even an alchemist's fire) to try and trip my opponent? Typically, those weapons resolve against an opponent's touch AC, so do those weapons? If I miss an opponent with a splash weapon when using this feat, does it trigger? What about firearms?
I can't rules regarding touch CMD, if such a statistic even exists. So what's the dead? Clearly a bomb is a ranged weapon, after all.