
![]() |
Damiels 3rd power reads, "You gain the skills Arcane and Divine equal to your Craft skill while you play or when you would banish a spell that does not have the attack trait."
The FAQ states to add "until the end of the step"
This came up during play last night and I'm curious if this would work. Damiel encounter a bane that needed a divine check to beat. He played the spell Speed on the check, stating it gave him the divine skill until the end of the turn since the spell is active for the whole turn.
Would this work? If not why?

Hawkmoon269 |

I think you've misread the FAQ.
Can Damiel recharge spells with the Arcane or Divine skill he gains?
Yes.
Resolution: In the Powers section on Damiel's character card and both sides of his role card, change "When you play a spell that does not have the Attack trait, you gain the skills Arcane and Divine equal to your Craft skill until the end of the step" to "You gain the skills Arcane and Divine equal to your Craft skill while you play or when you would banish a spell that does not have the Attack trait".
So the "end of the step" part has been removed from his power, not added to it. He now has the skill while he is playing or recharging the spell. And as soon as he is done playing or recharging it, he no longer has the skill.
As to whether the Speed loophole would work, I'd personally say no. Speed doesn't relate to the Divine check he is attempting, so he can't play it. However, there is a discussion going on as to just how much something has to relate to the check to be played. This situation would be interesting to reconsider in light of that discussion.