Crazed Cultists question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Ok, so my group encountered this one last night, and it left us a little stumped and we would like to know if it was played correctly.

Card:

Spoiler:
Each character at an open location summons and encounters the henchman Cultist of Baphomet. Each character that does not evade or defeat the henchman banishes an ally. To defeat this barrier, all of the summoned henchmen must be defeated.

After you act, banish this barrier.

Situation: Alain, Adowyn, and Seoni are in open locations when Alain encounters the card. Seoni fails to defeat her cultist (no ally in hand to banish), then Adowyn defeats her cultist, and then Alain defeats his cultist.

We didn't defeat the barrier as Seoni failed her check against the summoned henchman, meaning the card should have been shuffled back into the location deck that it came from, but we banished it anyway due to the next part of the card (after Alain acted, as he was the one to encounter the barrier).

I couldn't find any errata to clarify what we should have done here, so what should have been done in this case?


You are correct, the barrier is banished whether or not you defeat it. In your particular case, that may not have mattered, but in the past we have seen effects like a location that require you to defeat a barrier to close it. In that case, failing to defeat the barrier would matter, even if you still banished it.


Ok brilliant, glad to know we're not misplaying these cards then. Always a good thing.

As a sub-question to cards like Crazed Cultists where all summoned creatures have to be defeated in order to defeat the barrier (e.g. Demonic Horde) or have Bad Stuff happen (e.g. Arboreal Blight), how do evaded cards work with them?

For example, if Adowyn uses her power to recharge a card in order to evade the summoned henchman, because the encounter is neither defeated or undefeate, the barrier gets to stick around or otherwise count towards Bad Stuff being done?


If someone evades their summoned encounter, then not every summoned creature is defeated and that particular barrier is not defeated.


jones314 wrote:
If someone evades their summoned encounter, then not every summoned creature is defeated and that particular barrier is not defeated.

Evaded monsters are neither defeated or undefeated, so the results of an evasion can vary based on the summoning card. The villain of AD0 Scenario 1 summons as random monster and states that she is undefeated if the monster is undefeated (so evading counts as a loss). A later villain (AD0-6?) summons the servitor demon but doesn't care weather you defeat it or not so evade away.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Crazed Cultists question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion