Can I use a bag of holding in an anti-magic field as a mundane bag?


Rules Questions


As the title suggests:

1. If I have a bag of holding in an anti-magic field, can I put things into it as I would a simple non-magical cloth bag?
2. If not, why not? After all it is specifically described as being a bag in the flavor text, and its not like the anti-magic field can hold it shut...
3. If so, what happens to the things in the "mundane" inside of the bag when I leave the anti-magic field?


Personally I would say that you can use it as a regular bag, and when you leave the anti-magic field, the items inside will be transported into the same pocket dimension.


You can, but the answer to 3 is why you don't.
Essentially there are no rules to cover this, so you are at the mercy of your GMs most evil of whims and imagination. At best the stuff in the bag will just disappear or maybe if you are very lucky suddenly appear in midair and fall to the ground.

At worst you have tears in the fabric of reality, eldritch horrors and guardians of space/time all in close proximity and/or very put out with you.


I'd personally endorse the same ruling as Johnny, with the additional clause that if the bag was actually full some random items get regurgitated to keep the space limit.

Grand Lodge

1) Yes
2) N/A
3) I would rule that anything put in the bag while it is non-magical, whether from an anti-magic field, or the suppression effect from dispel magic, stays there, in the mundane part of the bag, but that, when the magic turns back on, the contents in the mundane portion of the bag are probably inaccessible.

Would work well with putting in a few field rations and supplies, actually, while in a rope trick, so they would be accessible in a later use of rope trick...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can I use a bag of holding in an anti-magic field as a mundane bag? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions