Is recharging magic armour on hand-reset playing it?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Magic armours have this:

"If proficient with [type] armour, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand."

Does this count as playing the armour? This matters for Ghoul Hide, for example, as "if this card has the Corrupted trait, bury a random card from your discard pile or you may not play this card."


Not as I understand. It's simply a way to recycle your deck. Don't want the card, instead of discarding it, you can recharge it when you reset back to your hand limit.


'you may recharge this card' means you are playing the card with that text on it. If you had a power that let you recharge armour, then using that power wouldn't count as playing the armour card.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Rulebook wrote:
Playing a card means using a power on that card by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing that card or by performing another action specified by that card. Activating a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it. If a power says using it counts as playing a boon, it counts as playing a card. Doing something with a card that does not use a power on that card does not count as playing that card. For example, when Seelah discards a spell to use a power on her character card, the discarded card does not count as being played (meaning she also can’t recharge it).


Oh. I was confused.


Ok, so it does. Just wanted to make sure that the worst-case interaction (you must bury a card to recharge Ghoul Hide using its own text) was the actual case.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Is recharging magic armour on hand-reset playing it? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion