Shield Champion's Throw Shield + Returning Shield Ricochet + Bull Rush


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Returning Shield states that if one has a high enough BAB for additional attacks, they can be made as part of a shield throw as a ricochet from a previous target.

Throw Shield states at 7th level, one can perform a combat maneuver as if making a melee shield bash attack.

So the questions I have are:
If one has a high enough bab for two attacks and has two separate targets standing 10ft apart (V formation with the attacker) and it is assumed that both targets are hit)...

1.) Can one bull rush both targets with the thrown shield?
2.) In what direction is the second target bull rushed? Are both pushed away from the attacker, or is the second one treating the source of the bull rush from the ricochet?

If 1. doesn't hold, would it if you had Shield Slam and used "normal melee bash attacks" as ranged attacks?


1) Yes, it would just be rolled as two attacks.

2) Good question. Based on the fact that the shield does not count as coming from the previous ricochet point for cover, I would rule the same for bull rush. I would only do so in an effort to keep the logic of the rule the same, even though it parts with common sense. Therefore, I would rule that it comes from the position of the Brawler that threw the shield.

At 17th level, I would consider allowing the Bull Rush to come from the direction of the last ricochet, the same as for cover, if the Brawler wished. But I would imagine a lot of table variance on it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shield Champion's Throw Shield + Returning Shield Ricochet + Bull Rush All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions