| jtaylor73003 |
Sorry for the length of text, but I am having hard to tracking down some info.
1. The Salve of Exemplar Weapon from the Melee Tactics Toolbox doesn't list what type of Item it is, while d20PFSRD lists it as an Alchemy Item. Is it true that it is an Alchemy item? If it is true, what is the DC to craft it?
2. The Fuse Grenade says you light the fuse than 1d3 rounds later it explodes, but do you now how many rounds that is? EX: I roll and get two rounds. Do I know I have 2 rounds or is that Meta Gaming?
Fuse GrenadePrice 100 gp; Weight 1 lb.
DESCRIPTION
This hollow clay container holds a small charge of black power and a slow-burning fuse. Lighting the fuse is a move action; 1d3 rounds later the grenade explodes, dealing 2d6 points of bludgeoning damage and 1d6 points of fire damage in a 10-foot-radius burst (Reflex DC 15 halves). You throw a fuse grenade as if it were a splash weapon.
3. The Grenadier ability Alchemical Weapon states:
Alchemical Weapon (Su)At 2nd level, a grenadier can infuse a weapon or piece of ammunition with a single harmful alchemical liquid or powder, such as alchemist’s fire or sneezing powder, as a move action. This action consumes the alchemical item, but transfers its effect to the weapon in question.
The alchemical item takes full effect on the next creature struck by the weapon, but does not splash, spread, or otherwise affect additional targets. Any extra damage added is treated like bonus dice of damage, and is not doubled on a critical hit. The alchemical treatment causes no harm to the weapon treated, and wears off 1 minute after application if no blow is struck. At 6th level, a grenadier can use her alchemical weapon ability as a swift action. At 15th level, this ability becomes a free action.
Is the Fuse Grenade a weapon for purpose of combining an Acid to it?
If it is a weapon for the purpose of Alchemical Weapon:
Do I have to hit the enemy with the Grenade to get the Acid to go off then the Grenade explodes 1d3 rounds later, or does the Acid get apply after the Grenade explodes meaning a creature would take 2d6 fire, 1d6 acid, and 1d6 Bludgeoning Reflex save for have?
| Joesi |
1. I have some doubt tht the exemplar weapon salve would be meant to be craft-able (after all it's saving a lot of money and it has no DC), but if a DM wants it to be craftable, they can give it whatever DC they want. 30 seems reasonable.
2. I'd guess that the character's not supposed to know, and hence the GM should probably make the roll. That said, I feel like the item may get no use if that was the case, and GM could decide whatever fair will be how it goes (and I think knowing the duration is fair).
3. Again GM's call. I'd say no it wouldn't work with Alchemical Weapon since I doubt it's intended to be used in that manner. I think it means any reusable weapon or any ammunition, or rather even any weapon at all that doesn't deal AoE damage.
If a GM did allow it to work, I'd still make sure they limit the Alchemical Weapon damage (in this case acid) to only a single target (nearest explosion center) despite the fact that it wouldn't activate until the bomb explodes.That or I'd say a flat 1 acid damage to all in the AoE (which is obviously a GM's spontaneous arbitrary mechanic ruling)
| jtaylor73003 |
First thank you for responding.
1. I have some doubt tht the exemplar weapon salve would be meant to be craft-able (after all it's saving a lot of money and it has no DC), but if a DM wants it to be craftable, they can give it whatever DC they want. 30 seems reasonable.
Crafting it shouldn't be unreasonable since the CRB crafting rules already allow you to craft Master Work items.
Create Masterwork ItemYou can make a masterwork item: a weapon, suit of armor, shield, or tool that conveys a bonus on its use through its exceptional craftsmanship. To create a masterwork item, you create the masterwork component as if it were a separate item in addition to the standard item. The masterwork component has its own price (300 gp for a weapon or 150 gp for a suit of armor or a shield, see Equipment for the price of other masterwork tools) and a Craft DC of 20. Once both the standard component and the masterwork component are completed, the masterwork item is finished. The cost you pay for the masterwork component is one-third of the given amount, just as it is for the cost in raw materials.
So with Craft(Bows) I could make a Master Work Longbow for 125gp. I only wondering what type of item is the Salve, or what craft/DC would I need to make it. Hopefully Alchemist since my character is an Alchemist.
| Joesi |
It is an alchemy item yes. As far as I know any consumable non-magic (non-ammunition, but even some ammunition, I presume if they have regular ammo already) item is made with craft:alchemy. I don't think the rules specifically say that anywhere, but that's how it generally turns out.
There is no DC, so by strict RAW it's not craftable, but a GM allowing DC 30 seems reasonable.