Magic Circle and Dimensional Anchor and Planar Binding


Rules Questions


Probably there's something I don't understand since English is not my native language, but reading Magic Circle I found something weird. The alternate version of the circle says, "...for a maximum of 24 hours per caster level, provided that you cast the spell that calls the creature within 1 round of casting the magic circle"

So you cast the magic circle, and the following round you cast the Planar Binding. But then, if you want to add a dimensional anchor,

"A successful diagram allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell"

round before casting? but in that round I should be already casting Planar Binding as stated above...

Am I wrong?

Grand Lodge

It seems to work like this:
1) spellcaster casts one of the magic circle spells.
2) spellcaster immediately begins casting planar binding.
3) if the called creature has dimensional travel abilities then roll initiative and hope the spellcaster rolled better to get dimensional anchor off successfully, otherwise their efforts might be wasted.

This said, there may be other things a spellcaster can do to keep such a creature from using dimensional travel, dimensional lock, for example.


xebeche wrote:

It seems to work like this:

1) spellcaster casts one of the magic circle spells.
2) spellcaster immediately begins casting planar binding.
3) if the called creature has dimensional travel abilities then roll initiative and hope the spellcaster rolled better to get dimensional anchor off successfully, otherwise their efforts might be wasted.

This said, there may be other things a spellcaster can do to keep such a creature from using dimensional travel, dimensional lock, for example.

But Magic Circle states: "A successful diagram allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell."

Before casting any summoning spell, not after. And also: "This spell has an alternative version that you may choose when casting it. A magic circle against evil can be focused inward rather than outward. When focused inward, the spell binds a nongood called creature (such as those called by the lesser planar binding, planar binding, and greater planar binding spells) for a maximum of 24 hours per caster level, provided that you cast the spell that calls the creature within 1 round of casting the magic circle."

So if you cast the summoning spell within 1 round of casting the magic circle, how can you cast dimensional anchor during the round before casting the summoning spell?


Looking again at the spell, I thing it's just poor wording. If you don't use any diagram, then you cast magic circle and next round, planar binding. If you use a diagram, it allows you "break" this combination adding dimensional anchor, so it will be magic circle, dimensional anchor and planar binding, all cast without interrumption.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Circle and Dimensional Anchor and Planar Binding All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions