Black Blades and Intelligent Item Cohorts.


Rules Questions


Heyas all, was reading through the new Cohorts and Companions book and something caught my eye:

Quote:
A character with an intelligent item cohort can enhance and improve the item’s magical abilities as if possessing the appropriate item creation feat for creating an item of its type.

If a Magus turns their Black Blade into a cohort, does that supersede the the rule that BladeBound Magi can't normally enchant their Black Blades? I expect the answer is no, but thought I'd double check.


I believe the usual principle in these cases is "specific trumps general" - while usually you'd be able to upgrade an intelligent item cohort that way, the black blade specifically would not be able to, since black blades specifically cannot be enchanted. It's not a set-in-stone ruling, but that'd be my guess.


"A character with an intelligent item cohort can enhance and improve the item’s magical abilities as if possessing the appropriate item creation feat for creating an item of its type."

If you possess Craft Magic Arms and Armor, can you upgrade a black blade?


Rennaivx wrote:
I believe the usual principle in these cases is "specific trumps general".

The problem here is that we're dealing with "specific trumps specific."

Either

1) In general, a black blade cannot be upgraded, but a black blade that is specifically an intelligent item cohort can.

or

2) In general, an intelligent idem cohort can be upgraded, but an intelligent item cohort that is specifically a black blade cannot.

There doesn't seem to be any real notion of general vs. specific here.

Cf:

1a) In general, an immovable object cannot be moved, but a specifically irresistible force can move anything, including an immovable object.

2a) In general, an irresistible force will move anything, but a specifically immovable object cannot be moved by anything, including an irresistible force.

Liberty's Edge

Rogue Eidolon wrote:

"A character with an intelligent item cohort can enhance and improve the item’s magical abilities as if possessing the appropriate item creation feat for creating an item of its type."

If you possess Craft Magic Arms and Armor, can you upgrade a black blade?

FAQ

Magus, Black Blade: Can I use Craft Magic Arms and Armor to increase my blade's enhancement bonus?

No, nor can you use that feat to add other properties (such as flaming) to the black blade. You can use your arcane pool to temporarily add abilities to your black blade.
posted July 2013 | back to top


Shar Tahl wrote:
Rogue Eidolon wrote:

"A character with an intelligent item cohort can enhance and improve the item’s magical abilities as if possessing the appropriate item creation feat for creating an item of its type."

If you possess Craft Magic Arms and Armor, can you upgrade a black blade?

FAQ

Magus, Black Blade: Can I use Craft Magic Arms and Armor to increase my blade's enhancement bonus?

No, nor can you use that feat to add other properties (such as flaming) to the black blade. You can use your arcane pool to temporarily add abilities to your black blade.
posted July 2013 | back to top

Indeed. That was what I was driving at ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Black Blades and Intelligent Item Cohorts. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions