Soul Warden combining


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

I currently have a cleric/ life oracle that I'm thinking of combining with Soul Warden. I want to make sure I'm calculating the channel right.

Here is the text of the Soul Warden 's channel.

'At 1st level, a soul warden gains the power to harm undead with positive energy. This ability functions exactly like a cleric's ability to channel positive energy to deal damage to undead (but not to heal living creatures), and counts as channel energy for the purposes of qualifying for feats or determining effects that rely on channel energy. A soul warden uses his class level as his effective cleric level when channeling damage. He can channel damage a number of times per day equal to 3 + his Charisma modifier. Soul warden levels stack with levels in any class that grants channel energy for the purpose of determining the number of damage dice his channel energy ability deals to undead (if any).
I currently have (8) 3d6 cleric positive energy channels per day and (6) 5d6 oracle positive energy channels per day.'

Channel Damage says it counts as channel energy for feats and effects. Use soul warden class level (1) for effective cleric level when channeling damage. channel damage (3+cha) per day (8 for me). Soul Warden levels stack with levels in any class that grants channel energy to determine dice of damage to undead. Here's where it gets tricky. I think that I add to each class for this part, so my effective daily channels vs undead are:

Cleric: (8) channel at (cleric + soul) damage
Oracle: (6) channel at (oracle + soul) damage
Soul: (8) channel at (oracle + cleric + soul) damage

The last there sounds questionable. And yes, all of this is only relevant vs undead- my healing channel is unaffected.

Part 2
I use the bless equipment feat. Which lets me turn channels into weapon enchantments. Do the uses of channel damage from soul warden qualify as uses of channel energy for me to burn on bless equipment?

Shadow Lodge

And the text of Bless Equipment:

bless equipment:
Benefit: As a standard action, you may expend uses of your channel energy ability to touch a single weapon, suit of armor, or shield and temporarily grant it one weapon, armor, or shield special ability. To bless a piece of equipment with a particular blessing, you must expend a number of uses of channel energy equal to the number listed in the table above, and your caster level must be equal to or greater than that listed for the selected blessing.

This blessing lasts for a number of rounds equal to the number of damage dice you are capable of dealing or healing with your channel energy ability (for example, the blessing of a cleric capable of channeling 3d6 points of damage would last for 3 rounds), during which time the item is treated as though it possessed the selected special ability. If the piece of equipment belongs to an unwilling creature, that creature may attempt a Will save to prevent the blessing, as if attempting a saving throw against your channel energy ability (so bonuses from channel resistance and similar effects apply); if the creature succeeds at its save, the channeled energy is expended to no effect.

Only magical and masterwork weapons, armor, and shields may be blessed with this feat. When you bless a masterwork item, you must expend one additional use of your channel energy ability beyond those normally expended to grant the selected blessing. In addition to the selected blessing, the masterwork item gains a temporary +1 enhancement bonus for the blessing’s duration.

You can grant a piece of equipment only one blessing at a time. Blessing an item that has already been blessed by you or another character replaces the preexisting blessing with the new one and resets the duration.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Soul Warden combining All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.