How exactly does Barbarian Chew work?


Rules Questions


I was pulling the description of this item from the Adventurer's Armory which reads:

"This bitter red chew comes from the dried leaves of galtroot, a stunted bush found in Cinderlands. It stains the teeth dark crimson but also increases the duration of barbarian rage entered into during the next hour by 1 round."

It wasn't clear whether this affected a single rage or any rage since it says "increases the duration of barbarian rage" not "increases the duration of a barbarian rage".

Also I had another player point out that on the ArchivesofNethys site, it is listing Barbarian Chew as costing 25gp per pound and only benefiting a single person once per day. This conflicts with the Armory listing that has it as 1gp, no weight, and no limit on uses per day.

So which listing is correct and what exactly is the right way to interpret how this chew works?


a single rage is given free round per use of the chew.


And how many "uses" are included in the purchase price? I've never understood this - is it basically an eternal supply, that you can use once per day to gain the listed benefit? Is it a single-use item?


There appear to be two very different entries on this item that treats it two different ways; both of which are rather vague.

Unfortunately, I am using this for a PFS character, so have been looking for as close to a "correct" interpretation as I can find.

Grand Lodge

Elbedor wrote:

There appear to be two very different entries on this item that treats it two different ways; both of which are rather vague.

Unfortunately, I am using this for a PFS character, so have been looking for as close to a "correct" interpretation as I can find.

The "correct" one is the one that you bring with you to the table. If you have a printed source that is legal per the additional resources guide, then that's what you can use. It doesn't matter if there are two different versions. If they're both legal you buy and use the one you want.

If they (pfs management) want you to not use one of them, then they will make it clear in the additional resources guide by adding something along the lines of "Such-and-such in this book is no longer legal as some-date, to use this such-and-such you see the entry in this-other-book."

Scarab Sages

Assuming the copy of Adventurer's Armoury you are using is the legal second printing version, go by what is in the book. Archives of Nethys is usually correct, but the book is what is legal via additional resources.


By RAW since it doesn't say "the next rage" or "a single rage", I'd lean towards it being for all rages within that hour. That said, it's supposed to be only +1 round over the whole hour, and it explicitly says so in other descriptions. So if you want to play honest, I'd go with that.

GM Lamplighter wrote:
And how many "uses" are included in the purchase price? I've never understood this - is it basically an eternal supply, that you can use once per day to gain the listed benefit? Is it a single-use item?

It is a single use item. Any item that is not single use is specified. If it's a use-activated item that is re-usable, it would imply so by saying that the object isn't expended, returns to a certain form, etc.


Joesi wrote:

By RAW since it doesn't say "the next rage" or "a single rage", I'd lean towards it being for all rages within that hour. That said, it's supposed to be only +1 round over the whole hour, and it explicitly says so in other descriptions. So if you want to play honest, I'd go with that.

GM Lamplighter wrote:
And how many "uses" are included in the purchase price? I've never understood this - is it basically an eternal supply, that you can use once per day to gain the listed benefit? Is it a single-use item?
It is a single use item. Any item that is not single use is specified. If it's a use-activated item that is re-usable, it would imply so by saying that the object isn't expended, returns to a certain form, etc.

Yeah, that rule looks..poorly written. I guess that's fair. It's not like the dev team dislikes rage cycles or anything (as my GM 'suggests' I move to the Unchained version).

And ... um, I'd really rather not imagine someone reusing barbarian chew. I mean ... yes, Animal Fury has some interesting consequences, but ... yuck.


Joesi wrote:

By RAW since it doesn't say "the next rage" or "a single rage", I'd lean towards it being for all rages within that hour. That said, it's supposed to be only +1 round over the whole hour, and it explicitly says so in other descriptions. So if you want to play honest, I'd go with that.

GM Lamplighter wrote:
And how many "uses" are included in the purchase price? I've never understood this - is it basically an eternal supply, that you can use once per day to gain the listed benefit? Is it a single-use item?
It is a single use item. Any item that is not single use is specified.

So you treat the whetstone as a one-use item?

whetstone wrote:
A whetstone allows you to sharpen a blade by sliding it against the stone at a precise angle. Honing a blade with a whetstone requires about 15 minutes of work and grants the weapon a +1 bonus on your damage roll the first time you hit with it. This only works on nonmagical blades.


By RAW I would kinda be inclined to, yeah. I know many video games have them as consumable items.

That said, I'm pretty sure RAI is meant to have them be reusable like in real life, especially if it weights 1 pound.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How exactly does Barbarian Chew work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions