Please help me understand powers and steps


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I'll walk you through.

When you encounter
There are only a few cards and powers that can be used in this step, and they'll always say that you can. Usually, this is something the scenario, location, and/or encountered card will do.

Evade step
You can play any cards or powers that allow you to evade the encounter, unless the encounter is immune to evasion or to the card you're trying to use (eg, the Fear spell is Mental, and can't be used against undead.) That's it.

Before you act
This is often a check, or just taking damage, or summoning other encounters.
-If it's a check: You can play cards (using the one of each type per character rule) and use powers on the check.
-If it's damage: You can use damage-reduction effects - but only one of each type, unless the card says otherwise.
-If it's a summon: Resolve the new encounter(s), and then come back here.
(If it's a check AND damage, such as with dragon breath, they're separate: you can use cards on the check, then on the damage.)

While you act
This is normally where the encounter's check happens, unless the encounter is itself a summon (as with, say, the Enemy Ship henchman in S&S.)
You can play cards and powers that affect the check.

(Take damage)
In case you fail to defeat a monster, you normally take damage; you can use damage reduction effects such as armour.

After you act
This is usually more damage. You can use damage reduction yet again. If it's a check (say a Constitution check to avoid burying a card,) you can play cards and powers that affect that check.

Resolve the encounter
There generally isn't anything you can play during this step, as it's a cleanup step.

-----

How this pertains to Leryn:
Displaying Leryn for the examine is not allowed during an encounter; it never pertains to an encounter's steps.
Bringing Leryn back to your hand is not allowed during an encounter; it never pertains to an encounter's steps.
Using displayed Leryn to boost your combat check is allowed during the "while you act" step, where you'd be making the combat check.


What about below

STEPS –
During each of these steps, you and the other players may perform only the specified actions. Players may only play cards or activate powers that relate to each step. Each player may play no more than 1 card of each type during each step

• Apply any effects that happen when you encounter the card, if needed

• Evade the card (optional). If you have a power or card that lets you evade the card you’re encountering, you may immediately shuffle it back into the deck; it is neither defeated nor undefeated, and the encounter is over.

• Apply any effects that happen before you act

• Attempt the check. – This is a step


CHECK – This is part of the step “attempt the check” and follows the below rules
Remember that each player may not play more than one card of each type or activate any one power more than once during each check.
Below is the entire check
• Determine which die you’re using
• Determine the difficulty
• Play cards and use powers that affect the check (optional)
• Assemble your dice
• Attempt the roll
• Take damage, if necessary.

STEPS – CONTINUED AFTER THE CHECK. Each player may play no more than 1 card of each type during each step

• Attempt the next check, if needed Then follow above aatempt the check guide
• Apply any effects that happen after the encounter, if needed.
• Resolve the encounter


im also trying to understand this thread

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2s9yt?Adowyn-Leryn


Couldnt i play the cohort before exploring....then i explore and encounter the card.....then during each step could i not activate the displayed card?....because if a card doesnt specify when it can be played it can pretty much be played anytime????? is that right.


Adrian Firth wrote:
Couldnt i play the cohort before exploring....then i explore and encounter the card.....then during each step could i not activate the displayed card?....because if a card doesnt specify when it can be played it can pretty much be played anytime????? is that right.

If you play Leryn before an encounter, and then get into an encounter, you can only use his combat-check ability --- and then only if you're making a combat check.

There are three times where "pretty much anytime" stops applying:

-At the start of a turn:
1. Advance the blessings deck
2. Use things that specify that they can be used at the start of turn
3. End "start of turn."

-During an encounter:
As described above.

-At the end of a turn:
1. Use things that specify that they can be used at the end of turn or before you reset your hand.
2. Reset your hand.
3. Use things that specify that they can be used after you reset your hand.
4. End turn.


Sandslice wrote:
Adrian Firth wrote:
Couldnt i play the cohort before exploring....then i explore and encounter the card.....then during each step could i not activate the displayed card?....because if a card doesnt specify when it can be played it can pretty much be played anytime????? is that right.

If you play Leryn before an encounter, and then get into an encounter, you can only use his combat-check ability --- and then only if you're making a combat check.

There are three times where "pretty much anytime" stops applying:

-At the start of a turn:
1. Advance the blessings deck
2. Use things that specify that they can be used at the start of turn
3. End "start of turn."

-During an encounter:
As described above.

-At the end of a turn:
1. Use things that specify that they can be used at the end of turn or before you reset your hand.
2. Reset your hand.
3. Use things that specify that they can be used after you reset your hand.
4. End turn.

But couldn't I still use it before the attempt check step?

Apply any effects that happen when you encounter the card, if needed

Evade the card (optional).

Apply any effects that happen before you act

Attempt check - what you said


Adrian Firth wrote:


But couldn't I still use it before the attempt check step?

Apply any effects that happen when you encounter the card, if needed

Evade the card (optional).

Apply any effects that happen before you act

Attempt check - what you said

During an encounter, you can only use cards or powers which directly pertain to the step of the encounter you are on.

Adding a die to a combat check directly pertains to the Attempt the Check step, so you can use that. Putting a card into your hand does not directly pertain to a step of the encounter, so you can't use that. This has been made clear with Phantasmal Minion.


I get it at last. Thanks guys

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Please help me understand powers and steps All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion