Mongrel Mage Bloodline Class Skill and Bloodline Arcana


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Question : after having selected his/her daily Bloodline, does the Mongrel Mage also gain the benefit of this Bloodline Class Skill and this Bloodline Arcana as a level 1 Sorcerer for the whole day ?

ACG wrote:
Each day when she refreshes her spell slots, the mongrel mage selects one sorcerer bloodline. She must select an ordinary bloodline with this ability, not one altered by the wildblooded archetype or any other archetype. She gains this bloodline’s 1st-level bloodline power for that day, using it as if she were only a 1st-level sorcerer.

Dark Archive

According to ACG :

ACG wrote:
This ability alters the bloodline class feature, bloodline powers, and bloodline spells.

This would suggest that Class Skill and Bloodline Arcana remain unchanged. However, the detailed ability description clearly alters Bloodline Arcana :

ACG wrote:
As a swift action, she can expend 1 point from her mongrel reservoir to activate that bloodline, allowing her to use its 1st-level bloodline powers as well as its bloodline arcana at her full sorcerer level, including using a bonded item from an arcane bond.

So there seems to be an inconsistency. It is also unclear if the Bloodline Arcana can be used the whole day as a level 1 sorcerer without having to spend 1 point the same way as a 1st-level Bloodline power.

Thought ?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mongrel Mage Bloodline Class Skill and Bloodline Arcana All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.