Monsters and Full Attacks


Rules Questions


Could someone clear this up for me...

If a monster uses all of it's natural attacks, and/or iterative attacks, does that count as a "Full Attack"- and a full round action, as it would for PCs?
If they wanted to move and attack, would they be limited to a single standard action attack?

This such a basic question, I'm almost embarrassed to ask, but it really is not that clear (at least to me).


Monsters follow the same rules as PCs. If you want to take more than a single attack you need the full attack action.

(or some special ability specifically saying otherwise).

Sczarni

Attack wrote:
Making an attack is a standard action
you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks


Thanks to both of you!

That's how I've been playing it, but had a friend recently disagree.

One final clarification- can a monster use all their weapon attacks, and natural attacks in the same full attack round?


Joe Hex wrote:

Thanks to both of you!

That's how I've been playing it, but had a friend recently disagree.

One final clarification- can a monster use all their weapon attacks, and natural attacks in the same full attack round?

Yes, subject to a few rules of it's own. You can't use the natural attack of a limb you used to make a weapon attack. And once you add a weapon attack all of your natural attacks become secondary attacks (getting -5 to hit).

So a Troll normally attacks with 2 claws and a bite, all normally primary attacks. He picks up a longsword and attacks with it. He loses 1 claw attack and his remaining claw and his bite both get -5 to hit.


Thanks. That explains the why the satyr for example, has his +6 to hit with his dagger, and only a +1 for his horns. If he decided to not use the dagger, and horn-head butt someone, the horns would be +6. That is of course, if horns are considered primary natural attacks, and not secondary (which, I believe they are).


Close enough, but just to be clear.They are primary attacks because they are the Satyrs only natural attacks.. He would also add 1.5 strength to damage. Horn would otherwise fall under the "other" and default to secondary.


Wouldn't it fall under the "Gore", primary attack?


When a creature only has one natural attack, then it counts as a primary attack. No it wouldn't be gore.


Thanks again everyone for the clarification.

Grand Lodge

wraithstrike wrote:
When a creature only has one natural attack, then it counts as a primary attack. No it wouldn't be gore.

Unless it has the Docile property, which makes even normally primary natural attacks secondary.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monsters and Full Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.