| Duncan Forsyth |
Is 'flame jet burst' a wordspell?
A wordspell containing 'burst' has a minimum level of 1. 'Flame jet' is a level 0 word.
Up to today, I have understood those rules to mean, "'flame jet burst' is a level 1 wordspell", but a friend's reading of the same rules is that 'flame jet burst' is not a wordspell.
Can anyone settle this one, or throw some light on it?
Link to the relevant but ambiguous rules for target words: http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateMagic/wordsOfPower/targetWords.h tml
| Serisan |
Burst flame jet is a viable level 1 wordspell. The target words merely indicate the minimum level slot allowed.
Level: This line lists the minimum level for a wordspell containing this target word.
As such, there's nothing stopping you from using Flame Jet other than it being a suboptimal choice for a level 1 slot.
| Kazaan |
Basically, you use the highest of either the level of the target word or the effective level of the effect words combined. To illustrate:
Barrier is level 3. Two level 0 effect words in the same word spell is level 2. The level of this spell is 3. By contrast, Burst is level 1. Burst with two level 0 effect words is level 2.