Giant Tick Attach ability vs. smaller creatures


Rules Discussion

Lantern Lodge

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

The Giant Tick has an Attach ability which allows it to glom onto anything bigger than it. This doesn't seem to do anything against enemies the same size or smaller than the tick. This then prevents it from using Drain Blood against smaller creatures as well, because it would have to be attached first. Even if it wanted to do something like Grapple a smaller creature, that doesn't actually help it attach its hypostome.

Is this intended? It seems like the tick just has no way to drain blood from smaller creatures. Are their veins just too small to get ahold of? This seems like it makes the tick a much less interesting enemy, especially the unique Medium one that my players are fighting right now.

(Why yes, my players DID just reach the fight with Grabbles and Tickleback in Kingmaker, why do you ask? I think I'll rule that Tickleback can still Attach to Medium characters as a normal giant tick could, even though he's a little bigger than normal so Grabbles can ride him around. But I'd still like opinions on the original question.)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am not seeing anything to indicate that it was not intended.


The RAW is pretty clear: It can only attach to creatures larger than it. If the idea is that it should be able to attach to creatures regardless of size, then listing a size limitation would make no sense if that was the intention.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Giant Tick Attach ability vs. smaller creatures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.