
![]() |

I couldn't help but feel stumped by a couple of things while reading new (and old) content. For starters:
Adventurers Armory - Magic Section:
If I were to use an Alchemist Fire as a material component to gain the benefits of setting people on fire via Fireball. Would that require me to have the item physically in my hand upon casting or would that just be covered as the unspoken rule when it comes to Spell Component Pouches?
Scaling Items
Am I able to purchase a specific level item so that it matches my own or does it just start at level 1?

Nargemn |

Well, concerning the alchemist's fire, I would personally rule it as requiring a move action to draw it, and then the spell's typical standard action to cast it. I can't find a clear mention in Adventurer's Armory concerning whether it needs to be in hand, but spell casting with a material component usually mentions 'drawing and using the material', so this makes the most sense.
I don't have unchained so I unfortunately cannot answer your second question :(

![]() |
I couldn't help but feel stumped by a couple of things while reading new (and old) content. For starters:
Adventurers Armory - Magic Section:
If I were to use an Alchemist Fire as a material component to gain the benefits of setting people on fire via Fireball. Would that require me to have the item physically in my hand upon casting or would that just be covered as the unspoken rule when it comes to Spell Component Pouches?Scaling Items
Am I able to purchase a specific level item so that it matches my own or does it just start at level 1?
The Unspoken Rule only refers to those trivial non-costed spell components which are cheaper than one gold piece. Alchemist Fire is not covered by that so yes, it has to be in your hand on casting.