[Unchained] Signature Skill unlocks--Use Magic Device


Rules Questions


21 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The question for FAQ is --> Is the signature skill unlock for the Use Magic Device skill supposed to work when you roll a natural 1 and fail the check?

Below are the skill unlocks for use magic device. They both imply that if you roll a natural you take a -10 penalty on a reattempt, however you can reroll with no penalty by the normal rules anyway. The rules is that if you roll a natural 1 and you fail then you can not use that item for 24 hours.

unchained wrote:


10 Ranks: If you roll a natural 1 when activating an item,
you take a –10 penalty on Use Magic Device checks with that
item for 24 hours instead of being unable to activate it. This
penalty stacks with itself.
unchained wrote:


20 Ranks: If you roll a natural 1 when activating an item,
you can reroll the check at a –10 penalty to activate the item.
You must take the result of the second check, even if it is
worse, and you can’t reroll it again.

Mark Seifter intended for the "If you roll a natural 1...." to be "If you roll a natural 1 and fail to activate an item...."

Mark Seifter wrote:
Huh, I actually changed it to "If you roll a natural 1 and fail to activate an item"...

This change allows for this skill unlock to actually work.

Press the FAQ button please.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Unchained rules use the term "instead of"

Unchained wrote:

10 Ranks: If you roll a natural 1 when activating an item,

you take a –10 penalty on Use Magic Device checks with that
item for 24 hours instead of being unable to activate it. This
penalty stacks with itself.

This would mean that you take the -10 penalty only if you would normally be unable to activate it. If you roll a 1 and activate it, you are still able to activate it and the 10 rank unlock does not apply.

Also, the reroll on the 20 rank unlock is optional, because "can".

It would be nice if the wording was a little more clearer than this, however. FAQing, because this is clearly confusing most people.


Snowblind wrote:

The Unchained rules use the term "instead of"

Unchained wrote:

10 Ranks: If you roll a natural 1 when activating an item,

you take a –10 penalty on Use Magic Device checks with that
item for 24 hours instead of being unable to activate it. This
penalty stacks with itself.

This would mean that you take the -10 penalty only if you would normally be unable to activate it. If you roll a 1 and activate it, you are still able to activate it and the 10 rank unlock does not apply.

Also, the reroll on the 20 rank unlock is optional, because "can".

It would be nice if the wording was a little more clearer than this, however. FAQing, because this is clearly confusing most people.

The problem with "can" is that it still make the ability weaker and the original wording was cut to save space. Mark said he could not fix it until it was FAQ'd.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / [Unchained] Signature Skill unlocks--Use Magic Device All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions