Hunter AnC trick - Cunning Pantomime


Rules Questions


Since a hunter can teach their AnC tricks from the skirmisher tricks an AnC can learn Cunning Pantomime. The definition for it is:

Cunning Pantomime (Ex):
As a standard action, the Ranger can communicate with a single creature as if using the tongues spell for 10 minutes. because the communication is slow and lacks subtlety, the Ranger suffers a -4 penalty on all Bluff and Diplomacy checks relating to the creature he is communicating with when using this trick.

So my questions are:
Can this be considered permanent while playing since there are unlimited uses?
Will this affect animal handling checks made on the companion since they can definitely understand each other?
Could the AnC be used as a translator if an npc speaks in a language no member of the party is able to speak?


1) No, uses are not unlimited. An upcoming FAQ will explain animal companions can use Skirmisher tricks a number of times per day equal to 1/2 their Hit Dice + Wisdom modifier.

2) This is a question for your GM, because there's no official answer. PFS holds that an Intelligence 3 Animal Companion is still just a really smart animal, not the intelligence level of a really dumb human, so, I would suggest it would have no bearing on handling animal checks. Indeed, you would need to succeed at a Handle Animal check to even get your companion to use Cunning Pantomime to begin with.

3) It is unclear. Sort of? Maybe? It depends on how your GM feels about animal level intelligence + language. If they rule that Tongues basically bypasses the fact that they lack advanced brains, the, yes, they could translate. Otherwise, this trick will basically do nothing.


Since it is a bonus trick it does not require handle animal checks.


You don't need to roll Handle Animal to teach an animal a bonus trick, but you still need to roll to have the pet actually use the trick as usual.


Saw this thread and wanted to add a similar question--I get that the FAQ will clarify number of uses per day, but how does the timing of these tricks work?

Consider these two:

Aiding Attack (Ex): The Ranger can use this trick as a free action when he hits a creature with an attack. The next ally who makes an attack against the target creature before the start of the Ranger’s next turn gains a +2 circumstance bonus on that attack roll.

Tangling Attack (Ex): The Ranger can use this attack as a free action when he makes an attack. If the attack hits, the target is entangled for 1 round.

Does the hunter have to use a free action on his own turn to handle animal to get the AC to do this? So would I have to use an action to issue the attack command, then another to get it to use Aiding Attack or Tangling Attack? Or can I use the free action on the AC's turn?

What about:

Surprise Shift (Ex): The Ranger can move 5 feet as a swift action. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity and does not count as a 5-foot step.


for reference

You can take more than 1 free action in a round unless your GM feels that the circumstances prevent it. It should easily be possible to give two possibly three instructions to an animal companion. You only get free actions on your turn (for the most part).

It should be possible to instruct your AC to attack with tangling attack and shift. It is no different instructing your AC to shift as it is instructing it to move to a specific spot.


Cool, thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hunter AnC trick - Cunning Pantomime All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.