[PFS] If a Bard takes Expanded Arcana can she take Bardic Masterpieces?


Rules Questions


Specifically say a bard is able to cast 3rd level spells, if she takes the Expanded Arcana feat could she take one or two Bardic Masterpieces (that replace either a 1st or 2nd level spell known) in place of the spells known gained via the Expanded Arcana feat?

Still not sure if it is worth taking - but I realized that if I was considering taking a masterpiece in place of a feat, taking the Expanded Arcana feat instead might allow me to gain one masterpiece and one spell known or two masterpieces (assuming I cast at least one level higher than the spell levels needed for those masterpieces.

In my specific case I was considering this for a Paladin / Bard / Dragon Disciple.

Not sure if there is one or two masterpieces which would be worth taking but figure I should at least look at them (this is for PFS so the masterpieces would also have be allowed in PFS)

Liberty's Edge

Eve simpler: human bard, favored class feature. You take 1 spell as the favored class bonus and learn a masterpiece of the appropriate level.
Very low cost.


yes but this character is not a human - hence my question (and as a Dragon Disciple her spellcasting advances but she isn't advancing as a Bard so no favored class bonus (this specific character is actually a male - and his favored class is Paladin but you get my point) - my question still stands.

Grand Lodge

Why would it have to specifically be the one gained from the feat?


because I'm looking into whether that is a viable option - for example when I get my first 3rd level spells I wouldn't actually gain any new 2nd level spells known, but if I also took the Expanded Arcana feat (say this was at an odd level) I could gain two 2nd level spells known - my question is could I then use one of those "spells known" (granted by the feat) to learn a masterpiece instead of a new spell.


Masterpieces wrote:
Cost: Each masterpiece has an associated cost to learn it. Typically, a bard must spend one of his bard spells known of a specific spell level or select it in place of a feat. The bard can spend a bard spell known of a level higher than the listed level to learn a masterpiece (for example, spending a 4th-level spell known to learn a masterpiece that requires spending a 3rd-level spell known).

I don't see anything that indicates that it matters where the spell known came from with regards to masterpieces. You should be fine.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / [PFS] If a Bard takes Expanded Arcana can she take Bardic Masterpieces? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions