Can I use this item to do this?


Rules Questions

Sczarni

I have Three Reasons to Live, a magical instrument.

Can I use it to start this: Shadow Puppets Bardic performance?

I can't seem to find any rule that calls out that I need to specifically use a wind instrument for Perform(Wind). Vice versa, if I use it to make funny shadows on the wall (because the way that horn is described looks ridiculous in my mind) in order to start a Perform(Act)?

The goal is to have a PFS character start at lvl 7 with this horn and summon a shadow conjuration summon monster V as a move action by using it as a shadow puppet doll.


It's in the Perform skill description, where it gives the sample of what methods of performing apply to what perform subskills. So you are only checking P(wind) if you are creating music by blowing into a wind instrument.

As for P(act,) you can certainly try to do shadow puppetry using a horn as a prop for P(act.) However, you can't get the +6 CL for using Three Reasons to Live as a light-blocking piece of monstrous keratin. Using a magical horn for its magical power entails blowing into it - which is governed by P(wind), not P(act).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can I use this item to do this? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions