Protection From Evil vs Elementals (Again!)


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I've searched the forums and couldn't find a clear answer on this. If an evil druid summons a (neutral) elemental to attack someone with protection from evil, is the elemental unable to make 'bodily contact'? I've been told that summoned creatures are considered the alignment of the summoner for this purpose, but I've also heard the opposite as well.

Sovereign Court

They don't gain a specific alignment. Protection from evil or good doesn't protect from elementals.


A J Gibson wrote:
I've been told that summoned creatures are considered the alignment of the summoner for this purpose, but I've also heard the opposite as well.

That is only true for certain creatures, normally just animals. They get either the celestial or fiendish template depending on your alignment and always match your alignment. Take a look at the Summon Monster spell. The creatures that match your alignment are marked with *. Elementals aren't on that list. They keep their alignment, neutral. Protection from X doesn't impede them.

Sovereign Court

yep... a player from a previous campaign was summoning earth elementals almost exclusively for that very reason... protection vs. X doesn't do squat...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Protection From Evil vs Elementals (Again!) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.