Combining a Staff and Rod into one item using Sovereign Glue


Rules Questions


So I was reading a thread earlier about whether a Wizard using an arcane bonded staff would be able to use a rod in any way without transforming to gain an extra arm or some other method requiring the use of magic or supernatural abilities.

In this thread, one person mentioned using Sovereign Glue to combine a staff and rod together into a "permanent union". In this way it would be possible to utilize a staff and rod together in the same hand.

What are your thoughts on the subject and do you have any other ideas to accomplish such a thing?


Since Pathfinder doesn't seem to have any official wording to define "hold" or "carry" or even "wield" (at least in a non-weapon sense), there doesn't seem to be a rule that would prevent this from working. At least, I don't know of one.

I would think that doing this would mean your staff is no longer a weapon (improvised weapon at best).

Presumably the two glued items must both be held in your hand (as opposed to holding just the staff and then trying to activate the rod without actually putting your hand on it) or we have to figure out what action it takes to move your hand from the staff to the rod, but I think it's reasonable that a normal sized hand could grip both the staff and the rod simultaneously.

Of course, you could glue a bunch of rods and wands together and have a veritable pepperbox of magical items permanently bonded and carried simultaneously, at least until your GM rules that it has gotten too big to hold everything in your hand at one time.

As far as other ideas, I once had a GM give me a staff with 3 grooves in it. Each groove could have a wand or rod inserted and it would magically fit - you could see them there but they didn't change the size, shape, or weight of the staff. I could hold the staff and activate any of the three things I had inserted (only one at a time using the normal actions required). A command word would release all the inserted items so I could swap out anything I didn't want in there anymore. I always assumed this was a home-brewed item, but maybe he found it in some book somewhere.


Ok that sounds like a pretty good ruling as far as glued items go

As for the staff with grooves, I haven't seen anything quite like it but I will endeavour to find it if it exists.

Thanks for the feedback :)


Rods must be held to be used.
Bonded items must be wielded to cast a spell.
Staves need two hands to be wielded.

The last sentence assumes a standard two-handed weapon staff.
The Hanbo is an eastern light melee weapon that is a staff.

Hanbo wrote:
The hanbo is a staff less than a yard long, often carved to look like a walking stick.

Using a Hanbo & Rod is easy.

Using a Monkey Belt is another option.

/cevah


Yeah but you need to have a hand free to cast spells as well, therein lies my issue :/

As for the monkey belt it seems to be a great alternative except for one thing... I am trying to make a Wizard/Monk combo and as such I need my belt slot for physical improvements to ability scores. Would have been pretty great otherwise though

Grand Lodge

Cevah wrote:

Rods must be held to be used.

Bonded items must be wielded to cast a spell.

They only need to be held. Wizard do not go magus with a bonded staff. They cast or strike, not cast AND strike. A wizard can hold their arcane staff with the crook of their arms while using a rod in that hand while using a free hand to cast.


@LazaX: You're right. Not sure what I looked up before.

@Vaite Belleran: A hanbo is a staff that only needs one hand. Your other is free.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Combining a Staff and Rod into one item using Sovereign Glue All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions