Brain Drain


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Hi! I am currently playing an oracle with the dark tapestry mystery.My question comes about some of the revelations available to the class. I searched for it but all three threads I saw about it died off with no answer. One was requested as a FAQ, but no answer was ever given. Or it was said that it did not need an answer. However I still don't know the answer to the question.

Quote:
Brain Drain (Su): You can take a standard action to violently probe the mind of a single intelligent enemy within 100 feet. The target receives a Will save to negate the effect and immediately knows the source of this harmful mental prying. Those who fail this save are wracked with pain, taking 1d4 points of damage for every oracle level you possess. After successfully attacking with this ability, you may use a full-round action to sort through the jumble of stolen thoughts and memories to make a single Knowledge check using the victim's skill bonus. The randomly stolen thoughts remain in your mind for a number of rounds equal to your Charisma modifier. Treat the knowledge gained as if you had used detect thoughts. This is a mind-affecting effect. You can use this ability once per day at 1st level, plus one additional time per day at 5th level and for every five levels beyond 5th.

How is the Will Save Level determined? Is this 10 + Caster Level + CHA.

Or, 10 + Highest Spell Level + CHA?

Quote:

1st Round: Presence or absence of thoughts (from conscious creatures with Intelligence scores of 1 or higher).

2nd Round: Number of thinking minds and the Intelligence score of each. If the highest Intelligence is 26 or higher (and at least 10 points higher than your own Intelligence score), you are stunned for 1 round and the spell ends. This spell does not let you determine the location of the thinking minds if you can't see the creatures whose thoughts you are detecting.

3rd Round: Surface thoughts of any mind in the area. A target's Will save prevents you from reading its thoughts, and you must cast detect thoughts again to have another chance. Creatures of animal intelligence (Int 1 or 2) have simple, instinctual thoughts.

Is this assumed to be as a 3rd round read? It also says you can do a knowledge check. So if I were to "probe" to see if the target has seen another creature pass through the area recently... would you know the answer?

Any help I could get with this would be helpful. Thanks. Also I apologize if it has been answered before. I looked into the FAQ but it was not there... unless I missed it.


1) Unless otherwise noted, the DC to save against these revelations is equal to 10 + 1/2 the oracle’s level + the oracle’s Charisma modifier.

2) Looks like yes, it would be as if you spent 3 rounds gaining the information via detect. As for "if a specific creature passed through" that might be iffy (Unless your GM counts it as a Know:Local check). The ability isn't the same as the spell. It allows you to make a knowledge check not pick and choose certain memories.

Liberty's Edge

Never mind I found it. Such a bone head. I went back in a last minute re-check. For those looking for this answer it is found in the Advanced Player's Guide right under Mysteries.

Quote:


Mysteries

Each oracle must choose from among the following mysteries. Unless otherwise noted, the DC to save against these revelations is equal to 10 + 1/2 the oracle's level + the oracle's Charisma modifier. Spells marked with an asterisk (*) appear in Chapter 5 of this book.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks Skylancer! I was just typing when you posted the quick response! :-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Brain Drain All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions